Google Search
Google Translate
Home Page

EYFS Curriculum



EYFS Curriculum


Whilst the children are in Reception their learning follows the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS). The EYFS is split into three prime areas which are Communication and Language, Personal, Social and Emotional Development and Physical Development. We also have 4 specific areas which are Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.


Within the prime and specific areas each area is divided into aspects. Some of these have changed however the areas have not:



Communication and Language

  • Listening, Attention and Understanding
  • Speaking


Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Self-Regulation
  • Managing Self
  • Building Relationships


Physical Development

  • Gross Motor Skills
  • Fine Motor Skills




  • Comprehension
  • Word Reading
  • Writing



  • Number
  • Numerical Patterns


Understanding the World

  • Past and Present
  • People, Culture & Communities
  • The Natural World


Expressive Arts & Design

  • Creating with Materials
  • Being Imaginative and Expressive





Our Curricular Goals @ St James'



Our curricular goals highlight all the things that we want children to know, experience and be able to do as a result of their time in Reception. Much of the time the children will guide their own learning but we are mindful of the outcomes we want our children to reach, and guide our children towards them.


Characteristics of Effective Teaching & Learning

The Characteristics of Effective Teaching & Learning still underpin everything we do with an emphasis on how children learn as this has huge potential to transform early years practice and empower children as confident, creative lifelong learners. Here at St James' we like to encourage children to follow their interests, make independent choices about their learning and support them to develop their thinking skills through skilful adult interactions.